The National Association of State CIOs recognized excellence in state technology at all levels at the recently wrapped NASCIO 2017 annual conference.

Four awards were announced: the State Technology Innovator Awards, the 2017 NASCIO State IT Recognition Awards, the Thomas M. Jarrett Cybersecurity Scholarship, and the Corporate Longevity Awards.

The State Technology Innovator Awards

The State Technology Innovator Awards recognize initiative-based achievements in a variety of technology areas. This year’s recipients were selected by the NASCIO Awards Committee from a field of more than 100 nominees. This year, NASCIO awarded 11 initiatives.

  • Cross-Boundary Collaboration and Partnerships, State of California, Virtual Integrated Mobile Office
  • Cybersecurity Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Risk-Based Multi-Factor Authentication
  • Digital Government: Government to Business, State of Minnesota, Tempo Go Live
  • Digital Government: Government to Citizen, State of Georgia, Division of Child Support Services Mobile App
  • Disaster Recovery/Security & Business Continuity Readiness, State of Michigan, Michigan Cyber Civilian Corps
  • Emerging and Innovative Technologies, State of Utah, Utah Driver License Appointment Reminder and Public Meeting Notice Reminders
  • Enterprise IT Management Initiatives, State of Wisconsin, Star Project, The Blueprint for Efficient State Government
  • Improving State Operations, Commonwealth of Michigan, Michigan Forest Inventory System
  • Information Communications Technology (ICT) Innovations, State of Minnesota, Minnesota Geospatial Commons
  • Open Government and Data, Information and Knowledge Management, State of Oregon, MAGI Medicaid System Transfer Project
  • State CIO Office Special Recognition, State of Colorado, Strategy of Success: Playbook and Five-Year IT Plans

The 2017 NASCIO State IT Recognition Awards

The NASCIO State Technology Innovator Award recognizes state technology leaders who have helped advance state technology policy. The award seeks individuals who have promoted best practices, adoption of new technologies, and advancements in service delivery to benefit their state government and citizens. The recipients, who must be an employee, elected official, appointed official or other appointee representing state government, are gathered from both NASCIO members and nonmembers. This year, the awards committee recognized three individuals. Along with announcing the recipients, NASCIO also provided a brief explanation as to why they were selected.

  • Derek Bridges, Program Administrator for the Ohio Administration Knowledge System
    Bridges has overseen OAKS, an enterprisewide data sharing and visualization platform that has vast possibilities for insights into public policy impacts, outcomes and government efficiencies. OAKS is changing the way Ohio does business and Bridges has been instrumental in its success.
  • Carrie Mayne, Chief Economist for the Utah Department of Workforce Services
    In the past year, Mayne has overseen the production of a comprehensive decision support and data-rich economy dashboard. Training her team to effectively leverage vast amounts of cross-agency data has provided unique and valuable insights into the Utah economy. Mayne ensures these important tools are well utilized, sharing her work through social media and contributing to the state’s open data portal, providing a monthly livestream on the state’s economy.
  • Steve Nichols, Chief Technology Officer, State of Georgia
    As CTO for Georgia, Nichols advises leadership of the Georgia Technology Authority and other state agencies on critical technology issues. He has played a key role in numerous initiatives to modernize the state’s IT infrastructure and has served on national boards responsible for developing and recommending technology policies and practices. Nichols is also responsible for Georgia’s Web portal and the state’s enterprise Web publishing platform, which has received recognition from NASCIO awards in past years.

The Thomas M. Jarrett Cybersecurity Scholarship

The Thomas M. Jarrett Cybersecurity Scholarship is named after the president of NASCIO from 2004 to 2005. The scholarship gives state CISOs the opportunity to attend the NASCIO Annual Conference and contribute to the national dialogue on cybersecurity. This year, three state CISOs received the scholarship.

  • Erik Avakian, CISO, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
  • Stan Gatewood, CISO, State of Georgia
  • Kirk Lonbom, CISO and Acting CIO, State of Illinois

The Corporate Longevity Awards

At its annual conference NASCIO recognizes corporations that have been NASCIO members for five or more years. This year 16 corporations were recognized for their membership.

  • 25 years: CenturyLink, CGI Technologies and Solutions, and Microsoft
  • 20 years: Maximus
  • 15 years: DXC Technology, Harris, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, and ViON
  • 10 years: BMC Software, Google, Grant Thornton, Intel, and NetApp
  • 5 years: Advocate Solutions, FireEye, and Workday#3

#NASCIO17 Lessons:

Using Technology to Delight With KSM’s Michele Hovet

Servant Leadership With SAP’s Sara Marshall

Valuing Diversity With James Collins, Delaware CIO

IT Consolidation With Mark Bengel, Tennessee CIO

Read More About